2017 Seawanhaka Cup

The 46th Match of the Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup for Small Yachts will be raced in Oyster Bay from September 15 - 17, 2017. Seawanhaka, as defender, having won the cup from Southern Yacht Club in 2014, is looking forward to hosting the following challengers:

Black Rock Yacht Club
Corinthian Yacht Club
Long Beach Yacht Club
Minima Yacht Club
Newport Harbor Yacht Club
Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Club
Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Club

The Seawanhaka Cup, as seen in its specially designated trophy case in the clubhouse 

Seawanhaka’s team is led by helmsman Christopher Poole, along with fellow Seawanhaka members Jean-Pierre Blaise, John Colburn, Sam Barron-Fox and Jonathan Hammond. Racing will be held in Match 40’s in the waters off Centre Island.

The Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup is the oldest yachting trophy, originating in America, which remains in active competition. First raced in 1895, the Seawanhaka Cup trophy was offered for the purpose of promoting small yacht racing and developing the Corinthian spirit among yachtsmen. The very first challenge in 1895 was sailed in half-raters, a boat of about 15’, between Seawanhaka’s Ethelwynn and Spruce IV from England’s Minima Yacht Club.

Of particular note for the 46th Challenge is the exciting return of Minima Yacht Club and Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Club to the competition. Minima was the very first challenger in 1895 and this is their first time back in 122 years. Royal St. Lawrence first challenged in 1896, winning the Seawanhaka Cup that year and successfully defending eight times before losing in 1905. Their nine year win streak stands as the current record. Royal St. Lawrence last challenged in 1971.

All Seawanhaka members are encouraged to spectate and enjoy what is expected to be very competitive and exciting match racing.