2019 Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup for Small Yachts (Seawanhaka Cup)

The 47th Match of the Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup for Small Yachts will be raced in Oyster Bay from June 12 - 15, 2019. Seawanhaka, as defender, having successfully won the cup in 2017, is looking forward to hosting the following challengers:

Corinthian Yacht Club
Long Beach Yacht Club
New York Yacht Club
Pequot Yacht Club
Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron
Yacht Club Punta del Este

Deed of Gift      Notice of Race     History of the Cup    Entry Form     Sailing Instructions     Informational Brochure     Results


Seawanhaka’s team is led by helmsman Christopher Poole, along with fellow Seawanhaka members Sam Barron-Fox, Jack DeNatale, Alex Ellis & Edward Lebens. Racing will be held in Match 40’s in the waters off Centre Island.

The Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup is the oldest yachting trophy, originating in America, which remains in active competition. First raced in 1895, the Seawanhaka Cup trophy was offered for the purpose of promoting small yacht racing and developing the Corinthian spirit among yachtsmen. The very first challenge in 1895 was sailed in half-raters, a boat of about 15’, between Seawanhaka’s Ethelwynn and Spruce IV from England’s Minima Yacht Club.

All Seawanhaka members are encouraged to spectate and enjoy what is expected to be very competitive and exciting match racing.